Action and Information Items | Academic Affairs Documents | Academic Affairs Meeting MinutesFaculty Senate Meeting MinutesGeneral Faculty Meeting Minutes | Faculty Resources | Faculty Senate Strategic Plan

The Office of the Faculty Senate is:
Purchasing Building Room 6
Telephone: 426.2004

ZOOM link for Faculty Senate and Academic Affairs Meetings: //

502 Bad Gateway

  • To initiate and review policies which affect the faculty at Highlands
  • 502 Bad Gateway
  • To create, update, distribute and permit electronic access to the NMHU Faculty Handbook.
  • To elect members to certain committees
For additional information relating to faculty, please see the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Members of the Faculty Senate for the 2019-20 academic year are:

  • nginx
  • Robert Karaba– Executive Committee, Faculty Senate Vice Chair (Social & Behavioral Sciences)
  • Maureen Romine – Executive Committee, Faculty Senate (Biology)
  • Kipling Coggins – Executive Committee, At Large (Social Work/Albuquerque)
  • Ali Arshad (School of Business / Business Administration)
  • John Jeffries (Computer and Mathematical Sciences)
  • Kevin Ensor (School of Education / Counseling & Guidance/Rio Rancho)
  • Ann Wolf (School of Education / Curriculum & Instructional/Rio Rancho)
  • Shirley Meckes (School of Education / Teacher Education)
  • Ben Villarreal (English & Philosophy)
  • William Hayward (Exercise & Sport Science)
  • Steven Williams (History & Political Science)
  • Norma Valenzuela (Languages & Culture)
  • Andrea-Garcia Nuthmann (Visual & Performing Arts)
  • April Kent (Library)
  • Sandra Gardner (Nursing)
  • Maria Fox-Haussmann (Media Arts & Technology)
  • Jennifer Lindline (Natural Resources Management)
  • Vacant (School of Education / Special Education)
  • Vacant (Chemistry)
  • Adele Ludi (Staff Senate Representative) (Non-Voting)
  • Tamlyn Crain (Student Senate Representative) (Non-Voting)
  • Mary Jane Valdez (Administrative Assistant to the Faculty Senate)